Caesar Flickerman Accident

May 8, 2012

I never change my manicure mid-week.  It’s too much work.  But this week, I had to make an exception.  The Essie polish I used for the Burberry manicure looked horrible on me…greenish brown taupe.  I couldn’t take it.  To me, it looked like I had some strange circulation disorder.  Plus Sheldon picked up dinner on the way home and Annika didn’t have any homework so I had some time to spare.

Annika and I experimented with our new stash and I intended to do a simple navy blue mani.  But noooo.  We couldn’t stop there.  Suddenly I’m adding glitter.  I’m a grown woman with a grown up job.  I should not be wearing glitter. But that didn’t stop me.

When it was all said and done, Annika declared my impromptu design a Hunger Games original – Caesar Flickerman.   And I have to admit.  It is (accidentally) Flickerman inspired (there’s a pic of him at the end of this post that I found after the fact).

I used China Glaze First Mate (two coats) and stippled Pure Ice Don’t You Wish in three steps: 1) ¾ way down my nail, 2) ½ way down, and 3) just the tips.  After it dried, I did two coats of Seche Vite to make it smooth (it was kind of grainy).  I wore a boring blue blazer to work today to coordinate with my madness.  That evens it all out, right?

I think it looks like the ocean.  It might be fun to paint the ring fingers orange and stripe them black and white like a clown fish.  Now THAT I could not wear to work!  Maybe before I take this off, I’ll try it.

Here’s Caesar Flickerman…

  • Polish: China Glaze First Mate, Pure Ice Don’t You Wish
  • Tools: makeup sponge
One Response to “Caesar Flickerman Accident”


Leave a Reply

